Instead of sharing your projects and tasks with single persons you can create teams, invite relevant people and share whole projects or subtasks with different access rights.
There're two ways to do so:
- Set up your team on the team page
- Create a team while sharing your object
Set up your team on the team page
Create a team
You can setup a new team on the team page, which is accessible via the drop-down menu next to your email address at the upper right. Here you can also jump directly into the team page in RPLAN. A click on the
+ Create team button in the second column creates automatically an unnamed team. The team details area right next to it offers you all options for your team setup.
Type your desired team name in the name input. It will be saved automatically.
Invite yet unknown people
To invite new people to RPLAN and to your team copy the invitation link to clipboard manually or with click on the button right next to it. You can share the link with people you'd like to work with. The invited person just has to click the link and after successfully signup to RPLAN he or she is member of the team, gets access to the team and all objects, which are shared with the team.
Another option to share the link is to open your local email client to immediately invite people via email. A click on the button with the email icon opens an email with the invitation link inside. You can add a message if you like and send it to several recipients.
There is no way to undo an invitation that has already been sent, but sometimes this would be very useful, e.g. if you have accidentally sent an invitation to the wrong person. To counteract this, you can invalidate the invitation link by setting the switch to OFF. Thus, all previously sent links are invalid and are no longer usable. Switching ON again generates a new invitation link. Note: This action isn't undoable.
Add already known people from your contacts to your team
To get an overview of who is in your team, all added users will be shown in the member list. Below the list you find the option to add already known RPLAN users from your contacts. This could be people you have worked with in other teams or projects. Click on
Add user to team to choose your contact from the opened list. Confirm your choice with clicking the
Note: added users won't be informed about the addition. They get instant access to this team on their team page and all the objects shared with it are displayed in their dashboard.
You can remove users from the team at any time. Just click on the small
x at the end of the entry. The user won't be longer connected to the team and loses access to all objects shared with the team.
Create individually defined labels for your project team
Labels provide a powerful way to logically group projects, milestones or tasks related to your project team. Find out how to deal with them in the create and add labels article.
Permissions list all shared objects to your team
Now you have finished your team setup! It's time to start collaboration on shared objects. If you haven't shared an item with your team before, the how to share objects with teams article helps you. There you'll also find information about creating a team while sharing objects.
All objects which are shared with the team will be listed in the Permissions section. In addition, you can see which team member has shared the object and which access rights are granted to the team. Click on the object name will open it in the Schedule Manager.
Delete the team with click on the red link
Delete team. All team members will be removed loose their access to shared objects with this team. Labels will be deleted also from the objects. Note: this action isn't undoable.